Long Run Reflections (22 days)

Yesterday I logged another long run in the books.
The weather was perfect and my legs felt really good in the beginning. Towards the end though, my IT band started to protest at each hill and I decided it would be best to cut this one a little short.
I still managed to get a good strong 17miles in and I was really able to spend some time decluttering my mind.

I am always amazed with the little thoughts and ideas that pop up during these long runs. Some are good, while others are just ugly little seeds of doubt, but with each train of thought I am able to really look deeper into my mind and soul and discover what it is I am truly chasing.

On this run, it dawned on me that I haven’t really set any goals for post-Boston 2014. I have some races I would “like to do” but I haven’t put pen to paper to create that inspirational list of challenges.

It made me feel a little lost.

I even panicked a little bit. My mind started looking too far ahead and with that I started rearranging my mental calendar with a crazy training regime that involved me training for everything and nothing all at the same time. It was at this moment that I realized I needed a plan.
A plan to not just set goals, but to organize and prioritize so that I could focus more clearly on what dream(s) I am chasing and the path to achieve them.

For me 2014 is all about discovery, growth, and organization both mentally and in my life. I want my goals to reflect my love of this sport and to re-inspire my drive and dedication to training and staying fit.

I am so incredibly excited about running Boston and checking this goal off my list, and am looking forward to spending these next 22 days focusing on staying healthy for race day and really setting some goals for this year!!

.

20140331-085153.jpg

One thought on “Long Run Reflections (22 days)

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑