I just had to Tri…

Today I became a triathlete!!!

Since starting my weight loss journey, my go-to forms of exercise were strictly running and strength training. Recently though, after a few of life’s usual “hiccups”, I began to reevaluate my training and competitive goals. During some much needed soul searching and listening to the encouragement of my friends and coach, I decided I should do the Child of the Sun Urban Triathlon in Lakeland, FL.

A little while back, when I was recovering from an injury and training for my marathon, I rediscovered my love of swimming and grew to enjoy my time spent on the bike. Having those two elements as a regular part of my training only made the decision to journey down this road that much easier.

After today’s race, I will now know I will never regret the decision to go from being a runner to a multi-sport athlete!!

This morning I woke up at 4am and started getting ready for race day. After a nice warm shower to wake up both my mind and my muscles I grabbed a cup of coffee and my pre-race fuel (Lauren’s Mega Nuts Picky Bar, and a banana) and started packing up my gear. As I was packing I kept reviewing the race course and plan in my head and talked myself through transitions. Then it was time to hop in the car and take the quick trip from our house to Downtown Lakeland (a 5 min drive).

I arrived at the Lake Mirror Center around 5:30am and went through the lines to get my timing chip and have my race numbers inked on my arms and legs. I then walked over to the transition station to set up my bike and gear. As I was putting everything in it’s place I kept going over the race plan in my head. I was feeling pretty nervous about this race, but was able to distract myself with a few trips to the bathroom, and some much needed distractions from a couple of my friends and race partners.

As the start time quickly approached I did one last look at my transition station, grabbed a GU Roctane, put on my wet suit and headed down toward the lake where we would be swimming (Lake Mirror). After hanging out at the Bent’s Cyclery tent for a little bit, it was off to the water for a quick warm up. After the National Anthem I hopped in the water to shake off some of the nerves and warm up my muscles. Then it was back to the waiting area and shortly after that we were off.

The race was a time trial set up so we were let into the water every 5 seconds. I was right up front in the second wave (competitive). The racers in front of me moved quickly and before I knew it, I was entering the water!! As soon as I got in the water I just felt this amazing sense of peace wash over me. I felt at home and relaxed with every stroke and just kept my focus on my breathing and keeping my stroke nice and strong. The spotting came easily which I was really surprised with, and before I knew it I was rounding the second buoy and heading back towards land for the second half of the triathlon. I got out of the water quickly and started working on taking off my wet suit (something that I know I will have to keep practicing) and ran towards the transition area. After fighting my way out of my suit and getting all my necessary bike gear on, I was out the gate and onto the bike portion of the tri. (Gear: Bike: Specialized Secteur with cages and my Saucony racing flats).

I had been a little bit worried about this portion, because it is a pretty technical course and I have not been riding a road bike for that long. You can imagine my surprise when I hopped on the bike, started pedaling, and just let myself fly!!! I pushed myself on the hills both up and down and after the first loop of the 2loop, 12mile course I pushed myself even harder. Around the last turn I dug deep and let my legs spin forcing them to wake up and find their pep for the run. My breathing was nice and stable through the whole ride and I felt comfortable with my effort. I quickly dropped my bike and gear at transition and then took off on the run.

My legs felt a little wobbly, especially going up a nice flight of stairs that was thrown into the first mile, but I was able to find my groove shortly after. Though the 5k part was not even close to a PR for me, I felt really strong and just worked on staying in control and keeping my strength going till the end.

The 5k distance is something that I have been struggling with mentally for a while but today there was never any doubt, fear, or negative thought in my mind.

I just kept thinking, you’re doing it!!

And every time I asked myself, can you dig deeper? The answer was always yes!!

This is something that I have been working on a lot. I have been reading a lot of great books on visualizations and becoming a strong mental athlete and it is something that I think really gave me an edge today.

As I found myself rounding the last corner I heard a voice say “let’s blow it up!!” and I just took off, giving it everything I had until I let out a huge “Woo-hoo!!” at the finish!!

After my finish I felt AMAZING!! I’m pretty sure I gave a hug to everyone standing around me and I am still wearing the huge smile that has been plastered on my face since the start of today’s race.
I came into this race with no big expectations but am walking away a completely changed athlete!! I saw myself with new eyes today and not once did I put myself down or question my capabilities. Today I broke down some major walls both physically and emotionally and I feel rejuvenated.

I owe so much to my running, but today showed me how much more of an athlete I can be!!

I also owe so much to my community of fellow athletes, many of whom are wonderful friends and who helped me to achieve my goals today.
HUGE THANK YOU’s to:
Casey Watson– for being a great friend by encouraging me to do COTS in the first place and for loaning me a great bike to do my first tri with.
Stephanie Painter– for being a great training partner, friend, and athletic supporter and for always making sure I look the part by loaning me some pretty fabulous apparel!!
Beth Bradford- for loaning the wet suit!! I would have frozen my butt off today without it!!
Patty and Steve Schmaedeke– for getting me to do my first open water swim
Julie Van Hart– for being an amazing babysitter and friend and for watching the kids today while I chased after my dreams!!
And a huge thank you to my best friend and love of my life, Bill Kimble!! I would not be able to put in the hours of training without you, and you are by far the most amazing athletic supporter and husband a girl could ask for!!
I am so blessed to have so many great friends and fellow athletes in my life and I appreciate you all so much!!

*Also a big thank you to Mike Alexander, Jesse Cookson, and Tyrone Bell for some much needed pre-race moral support!!
And to the numerous sponors, volunteers, and spectators who helped make this year’s Child of the Sun a fantastic event!! Can’t wait to do it again next year!!!

Child of the Sun Results:

2nd in Age Group (25-29) 1:17:36

2nd place Age Group (25-29)
2nd place Age Group (25-29)

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑